New Year’s Friday Five

mamako7070.jpg

Over at RevGalBlogPals, the Friday Five is underway, and I thought I’d join in to celebrate the New Year.

1. Do you make New Year resolutions?

Yes. Always. My list is about a mile long–which sort of defeats the purpose. I mean one simply can’t resolve to do everything.

2. Is this something you take seriously, or is it a bit of fun?

Fun, fun, fun. “Resolve” is such a heavy word, but I carry it lightly, or else I’m sure to fail.

Actually, much of my life I tend to look at as a game, of sorts. When there’s a conflict at the church, and I think of it as a game, it helps me to detach and to think more strategically. Then I approach things in terms of a challenge rather than a crisis.

3. Share one goal for 2008.

Somehow, I want to write another book, start a D.Min., and still be a good and loving mom. Keep praying. Keep breathing. Paint more. Okay, so that’s six things. See? I just can’t help but pile on the goals….

4. Money is no barrier. Share one wild/impossible dream for 2008.

I’d get the house in order. Take over the full mortgage (we have a shared equity arrangement with the church right now), replace the roof, repaint the rooms, get someone else to peel off the terrible wallpaper from these plaster walls. I’d buy a desk, more book shelves, and set up the study for my husband. I’d frame all of our woodblock prints. Maybe pick out some tile for our bathroom that’s not a pepto/black combination. Plant beautiful hydrangea, lavender, and lilac bushes all over the place. Then, I’d somehow make the entry and bathroom accessible, so my disabled dad could visit.

5. Someone wants to publish a story of your year in 2008, what will the title of that book be?

Well, I’ve described a fascinating 2008 of studying, writing, and paint picking. Who wouldn’t want to capture that riveting year-in-the-life?

This is a hard question. But I’ll play. My dream biography:
Making the Connection: How One Pastor Helped Some Unlikely People to Know God.

Hhmm… it’s interesting. It just occurred to me… I often hear evangelical emerging leaders who explain that the emerging church is not an evangelistic movement. They often say that they’re not concerned about church growth, but about keeping their church small. I respect that. Strangely enough, I, a progressive Protestant, have a burning hope that my generation will somehow know God. Things are changing….

photos by mamako7070

7 thoughts on “New Year’s Friday Five

Leave a Reply

